A Friend

While cleaning my closet one afternoon, I came across a very old file: a copy of a poster I bought when I was in third year high school. It says:

What is a friend? I will tell you. It is a person with whom you dare to be yourself.  Your soul can be naked with him. He seems to ask of you to put on nothing, only to be what you are.  He does not want you to be better or worse.

When you are with him you feel as a prisoner feels who has been declared innocent. You do not have to be on your guard.  You can say what you think, so long as it is genuinely you. He understands those contradictions in your nature that lead others to misjudge you.

With him you breathe freely. You can avow your little vanities and envies and hates and vicious sparks, your meannesses and absurdities and, in opening them up to him, they are lost, dissolved on the white ocean of his loyalty. He understands.

You do not have to be careful. You can abuse him, neglect him, tolerate him. Best of all, you can keep still with him. It makes no matter.  He likes you — he is like a fire that purges to the bone.  He understands, he understands.  You can weep with him, sing with him, laugh with him, pray with him.  Through it all and underneath, he sees, knows, and loves you.

A friend? What is a friend? Just one, I repeat, with whom you dare to be yourself.

C. Raymond Beran

So far, this is the most daring definition of a friend that I have ever read. Yet, as I reflect, I recognize that in Jesus, we find that kind of friend . . . the kind of friend who makes us “feel like a prisoner feels who has been declared innocent.”

Truly, our soul can be naked with Him. Sometimes he is “like a fire that purges to the bone.” Yet, he completely understands! What a friend we have in Jesus . . .

_ ___ _ ___ _ ___ _

Since then, I always prayed that I would be that kind of friend. I want to be like Jesus—someone who knows all about you and loves you just the same.

______________________________________________________________

The photo is through the courtesy of Heart and soul Reflections.
6 thoughts on “A Friend

  1. I read the post without even recognizing the photo. So glad you found something you could use. Thanks for stopping by my blog. I hope you clicked on the link to learn more about the Bible in 90 Days program. It is about 45 minutes of reading every day. I was so blessed by it. I hope you give it a go. A new session starts in July!

    1. Hello Cherie! Again, thanks for your beautiful photo! I really appreciate your work even those you post in your separate photo blog.

      About the 90-day-Bible reading, I’m afraid, I’m not yet ready. I have just started the 1st track of the 3-track program in my Student Bible (NIV). Anyway, I’ll still check the link, so I can schedule myself for a future program.

      Thank for visiting here!
      God bless you and your blogging ministry!

    1. Hello Adrian, thanks for the visit!

      You’re right! the one described above is best when sealed mutually—when both ‘friends’ are willing to be “A Friend.”

      Thanks for the thought!
      Godbless!

  2. dude, Neil here. i would have to say, my friendship with you somehow saved my life during my “depressive years”. God has used you greatly. i was on the road to destruction when you shared your life with me not just a friend, but also a brother. salamat.

    give my regards to your family as well, and to my inaanak.

    1. Hello neil!

      Thanks for dropping by here!

      God is always good to us. He never leaves us alone…you know that well. Sometimes when we feel alone, He sends someone to strengthen us. We call that someone as “friend.”

Maybe you'd like to share your thoughts…

